How to add an entry for Zend Studio in your Ubuntu programs list


I had been trying to add a shortcut/entry for Zend studio in my Ubuntu 11.10.  Finally I could find a way to make Zend studio entry come up in the Unity Application search or Filter. Actually its a rather straight forward procedure. Create a file zendstudio.desktop in the /usr/share/applications/ as root, add the following contents to it, using your editor of choice(I used vi editor).

[Desktop Entry]
Version=9.0
Name=Zend Studio
GenericName=PHP IDE
Type=Application
Comment=Zend's PHP IDE
Exec=/opt/ZendStudio/ZendStudio
Icon=/opt/ZendStudio/icon.xpm
StartupNotify=false
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=Programming;


Courtesy:

Create icon in Unity – Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal


(You could check out the above link to find way to add antry for any custom software using the same method).

N.B: Its my first blog post after nearly one year. Hope that I can follow it with more such useful posts.
The above method was tested by me in Unity based Ubuntu. But it should work fine in any GNOME based OS.

6 thoughts on “How to add an entry for Zend Studio in your Ubuntu programs list

Leave a comment